August has been a month to shoot nearer to home. My main subject has been the local roe deer.They are quite shy and always hard to get a good shot. I was hoping to find some rutting males, and although I did come across a pair of bucks squaring upto one another, it was almost pitch black so no pictures! The next morning however, I did see this buck hot on the tail of his doe, with clearly only one thing on his mind!

_DSC3704

The other lovely sighting was this youngster that I came across on another evening out.

_ND57139

Last weekend,I spent a very enjoyable afternoon shooting harvest mice. These tiny rodents do not hang around so also proved to be quite a challenging subject.

_DSC4024

When they stop for a second, you can get some nice poses. These two are youngsters. Childhood doesn’t last long for these guys as they grow and breed quite quickly.

_ND57640

It was nice to get them in various environments, though sadly the classic wheat stem eluded me. A bramble bush was a nice alternative though.

_ND58820

It was great fun, thanks to Pete Whieldon for this.

