No sooner had the amazing waxwings moved away than I found two birds in the woods really close to home. They are both birds I have never got decent views of ,never mind pictures so these shots were great. The first one to appear was the firecrest, a tiny little bundle with a flaming orange crest

What a bird, I was so excited, especially as for once,I had found him by identifying his call! He posed beautifully for me as he whizzed around looking for insects.

No sooner had I got shots of this one than I heard the calls of the even smaller goldcrest. In fact, the  smallest bird in the UK! But what a little beauty!

The crest is golden!!! Surprise surprise. The bird weighs the same as a 20p coin, virtually nothing!

They were also very active on these freezing cold days looking for bugs. They have the grumpiest looking face when seen from the front! Love them!